Saturday, June 10, 2017

Right Understanding

The first step of the Eightfold Path is Right/Proper/Correct Understanding or View.

This indicates we are to see life as it is, in accord with its Three Characteristics:
        1 . . .Impermanence
        2 . . .Dukkha (stress/anxiety/discomfort)
        3 . . .No-Self

Impermanence: All things come into being, exist, decline, and fall out of being.

Dukkha: Even that which brings joy also bring dukkha. Think of someone you deeply and dearly love. You worry about their safety and are heartbroken at their death.

No-Self:  There is no unchanging, permanent self, soul or essence in living beings. The Buddhist concept of Anattā or Anātman is one of the fundamental differences between Buddhism and Hinduism, with the latter asserting that Atman (self, soul) exists.

No comments:

Post a Comment