Saturday, February 10, 2018

The Four Noble Truths - The Foundation of the Buddha Dharma (This is Buddhism)

The First Noble Truth:

The Truth of Dukkha - Life is full of Dissatisfactions. We undergo many dissatisfactory experiences (dukkha) which should be identified. They include birth, aging, sickness, death, departure from who/what we like, being with who/what we dislike, failing to achieve what we want to achieve, and attaining what we don't what to attain.

The Second Noble Truth:

The Causes of Dissatisfactions - The unsatisfactory experiences (dukkha) have causes we should identify. These causes are the Three Poisons of Craving (Greed or Wanting or Desire), Aversion (Hatred or Not Wanting), and Ignorance (Lack of Wisdom or Delusion).

The Third Noble Truth:

There is Freedom from the Dissatisfactions (dukkha) in Life - There is a peaceful state where there is no dukkha. Nirvana or Awakening or Enlightenment is freedom from and the extinguishing of the Three Poisons.

The Four Noble Truth:

The Truth of the Path Leading to the End of Dukkha - There is a path that leads to Nirvana, to True Peace and True Happiness. This path is the Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path
1 . . . Proper View
2 . . . Proper Thought (Resolve)
3 . . . Proper Speech
4 . . . Proper Action
5 . . . Proper Livelihood
6 . . . Proper Effort (Skillful Means)
7 . . . Proper Mindfulness
8 . . . Proper Concentration

No comments:

Post a Comment